Book Review · Review Index

Book Review: Picture This by Lena North

Hello there, bookworms! I am going to review my first ARC from NetGalley, Picture This by Lena North. 

Title: Picture This
Author: Lena North
Pages: 282
Published: June 29, 2017
Rating: 3/5 stars
synopsis

picture this

Life just keeps slapping Mary in the face.

She had it rough growing up, and when it finally looks like she’s getting her life firmly back on track, breaking up with her boyfriend starts a string of events that threatens to bring Mary to her knees.

Fortunately, there are good people in her life who will do everything in their powers to help her when she needs it. Mary’s girlfriends, Jinx and Wilder are there for her, and after she’s rescued from being kidnapped, Carson and Bo take her into their home, becoming the family she always wanted but never seemed to get to keep.

As the group around Hawker Johns hunt the men who wanted to trade Mary for the valuable crystal from the mountains, she slowly recovers. Then life throws her another few curveballs, and it looks like she’ll lose everything yet again.

Mary is resilient and used to restarting her life from nothing, but when it looks like she’ll also lose the man she loves, maybe the happy girl has just had enough?

Picture This is the third book in the Birds of a Feather series, a young adult/coming of age series with paranormal elements, full of laughter, mystery, and romance.

Source: Goodreads

my thoughts - coral

Picture This is the third book in Bird of a Feather series. I haven’t read the two previous books yet, so basically, this is my first time to encounter with the plot and the characters. As to the writing, it is easily understood, but I just wish it has a lot more of the show than tell. I understand that the book is in Mary’s POV and thus, limited, but even though it is written in the first person, I wish it is written with more action and description.

Mary is known to be resilient and I love it. I love how this book portrays girl power. I love Miller. I actually do fall in love with him. And I also love how diverse the characters are. You can really feel their presence in the book and each character stands out without overpowering the other.

The plot is awesome. I love the action and the adventures, and how the small things are correlated with each other. I got to the point that I’m not excited for the next chapter because it became tedious to read, but in the last few chapters, I understood that every small detail is essential and related to each other.

“Her words didn’t anger me or insult me. They made me sad, for her sake. She was so bitter and the disappointment. She so obviously felt for how her life had turned out was written all over her face.”

As a whole, I like the book. I like the action and the adventures, but I think I am also asking for more, like some scenes that will get me hook.

Thank you BookBuzz and NetGalley for allowing me to read the Advance Reader’s Copy of Picture This in exchange for honest review.

How did you find my new book review? Tell me in the comments or talk to me in my social media accounts!

signature

Leave a Reply

