Book Review · Review Index

Book Review: All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Title: All The Bright Places

Author: Jennifer Niven

Publisher: Ember (Registered Trademark of Penguin Random House, Inc.)

ISBN: 0385755880

Rating: 4/5 stars

synopsis

8a41ea43f2c8f297881f026ea788fc9b[1]Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.
 
Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.
 
When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

Source: Goodreads

my thoughts - coral

All The Bright Places is written in a way that could be easily understood. Jennifer Niven wrote it in vivid details that made me imagine every scene and character clearly. The writing was so immersive, it made me transport into the book. 

The book is divided into two POVs — Finch and Violet. I like how it is clearly seen every part whose POV it is. There are no mixtures or incidents that Violet is sounding like Finch or vice versa. 

Finch broke my heart. Reading about how someone conceals all the pain with his freaky attitude is heart-shattering. it makes me want to shout all the pain out for him. I was on the verge of wanting to save him. it is true that problematic parents breed problematic children. Look at Kate, his sister, who tries to escape through partying. Decca, being sassy and cutting out bad words out from a book. It is a sign that there is something wrong. You know what, if his father is brutal for being an asshole and abusive parent, I tend to hate his mother more. Think of it. being a mother is not easy, but hell, you don’t have to be “sad” and pathetic just because your husband left you for another woman. Yes, it is painful, but being a mother, you have kids. Have a strength for them because you are all they’ve got. And for me, being a parent doesn’t just revolve in asking what your kids have done on a certain day and stop there. I’ve known this kind of parent in real life, and trust me, it sucks. It is the kind of parent that thinks providing food, shelter, and education is enough, but no. It will never be enough. And I don;t understand that Finch, being only a teenager, and his mother didn’t know what was going on inside his room! I am 26 and my mother knows everything inside my room and even inside my closet. And that’s cool for me — parents who are involved.

Violet is somewhat suicidal too at some point, but she tried to hold on for Finch. I understand that she lived in Eleanor’s skin for a while to mourn for all the loss and to blame herself. At some point, I’ve been there. When you lose someone in your family, regrets will flood to the point that it will drown you. I can’t blame her parents if they try to keep her away from Finch when they have learned that he is “problematic”. That’s the first thing parents will do because they care. And I can’t blame Violet if she’d given up on Finch at some point. Because life is exhausting. Your own life is already exhausting, what more of caring for someone else’s life. 

“You can’t keep pushing people to do things they don’t want to do.”

“But I bring it up to let you know that this is the way I feel right now. Like Pluto and Jupiter are aligned with Earth and I’m floating.”

“Suddenly I’m having one of those moments that you have after losing someone–when you feel as if you’ve been kicked in the stomach and all your breath is gone, and you might never get it back.”

I didn’t expect for myself to cry when reading this book. Maybe because I know how it will end. This book has all the hype. I’ve read this book during the wake of my uncle so it;s a little bit of struggle. I’ve lost someone and I was reading a book about losing someone. And it is hard, man. But hey, it helped me understand more of how life and death come hand in hand. 

I really recommend this book for those who want to understand what depression, suicide, and losing someone looked like and what really are. 

So there, how did you find my review? Share me your thoughts!

signature

2 thoughts on “Book Review: All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

  1. Hey there! It’s Nicka from Read by Nicka dropping by 🌻

    What a well written review Cha! I haven’t read this one yet but everyone I know in the bookish community loved this one. I should get started with this soon. Have a great day ✨

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

